15 years since our first date…we’re getting old!


15 years ago my husband and I went on our first date.  It was Friday the 13th and we had just finished a football game (we were both in marching band).  I had finally convinced my mom to let me go on a date and be able to ride in the car with Michael!  We went to Applebee’s with a group of friends.  I still remember the excitement of getting to go on a date!  Oh, to be young again!  Right before we got to Applebee’s he officially “asked me out” (that’s what we called it back then)!  I kept all his notes and cards from back then and was just now looking at them.  I found a typed-up list of questions to ask him while we talked on the phone because I could never think of anything to say (and he didn’t say much either)!  I was such a nerd!  Most of the time we just sat on the phone in silence because neither of us knew what to say. 🙂 That has definitely changed (at least on his part)!

One of Michael's many drawings from when we were dating (he changed my initials to what they would be if we were married)

He knew from the first time he saw me that I was the one.  I wish it would’ve been that easy for me too 🙂  We’ve certainly had our ups and downs, but I think we keep coming out of the bad times stronger than we were before.  I know I’ve driven him crazy at times through the years, as he has me, but I wouldn’t change a thing.  He’s one awesome man, husband, and father.  I love you, Babe!

Leave me a comment! Come on, you know you want to!

