Things I’m thankful for…


I started out listing something I was thankful for each day on Facebook, but I just decided to put everything into one of my blog posts.  These are just listed in random order:

1) I’m thankful for my kids, who have taught me so much about life, love, patience, and myself.  They are my everything and I couldn’t imagine life without them!  I’m thankful for the random moments of Mackenzie or Ethan telling me that they love me and for Cayden’s sweet little squeezes around my neck.  They are the best.

2) I’m thankful for my husband, who can be very difficult at times, but for the most part is awesome.  He has always been there for me and always has something funny (and most of the time inappropriate!) to say when I’m down.  He loves me and the kids unconditionally.  He still holds my hand and even after 15 or so years we’re still madly in love.  I love him with all my heart and hope we have many more years together.

3) I’m thankful for my parents, who have done so much for us.  They have given us everything we’ve ever needed (and so much more).  I can only hope that I can do for my kids what they have done for us.

4) I’m thankful that my parents are still married.  It seems like divorce is everywhere these days and I’m glad I grew up with parents who loved each other (and still do).

5) I’m thankful for the military and those who have sacrificed their lives so that everyone else can have freedom.  Growing up with no knowledge of anything military-related, I really had no idea of what they do and always took the military for granted.  It’s sad that it took the death of someone close to my family and friends for me to realize that, but I’m thankful for everything they do for our country.  There’s no way I could do what they do, but I’m glad there are men and woman out there who can, and do it so selflessly.

I’m only on my 5th reason and I’m already crying!  Okay, I’ll keep going…

6) I’m thankful that I’ve reached into myself this year and confronted some issues that I’ve not dealt with over the past decade.  I’m so thankful that I got the chance to meet with the family of a woman whose death I witnessed.  They hold a special place in my heart and it’s helped me so much to be able to talk with them.  I’m thankful for starting to heal and to help someone else heal.  It’s this experience (and along with many others) that has taught me at an early age that life can be taken from you in a second and to not take anything for granted.  It’s taught me to try not to get too upset over things that really don’t matter, because in the long run they really don’t.

7) I’m thankful for health insurance, even though it can really be a pain in the ass sometimes.  We’ve really got our money’s worth over the past years.

8) I’m thankful for our good health.  Mackenzie gave us a scare when she was born and got pneumonia, but she got over that.  Then she had a hole in her heart, but it eventually closed on it’s own.  Then she was put in the hospital again with the flu when she was 18 months old, but she got over that.  Then Cayden was born and was pretty sick but she got better.  She has reflux in her kidneys, but hopefully that will correct itself.  Mackenzie has severe scoliosis and might need surgery, but we don’t know for sure yet.  No matter how bad I think it is, I try to think that there is a lot of people out there who have it so much worse.  Even though we have some issues, I’m thankful that so far it’s things that can be fixed.

9) I’m thankful for my family.  I think we’re a pretty close family and I love being surrounded by a lot of people when we have birthdays and holidays.  I even have awesome in-laws!

10) I’m thankful for knitting and crocheting.  It may make me sound old but it’s a big stress-reliever to me.  I don’t know if it’s the repetitive movements or the way my mind doesn’t really have to concentrate on anything.  My mind can just wander and it’s just very therapeutic.  Plus, I get something I can use out of it!

11) I’m thankful for music.  Music is so healing to me – I listen to it when I’m mad, upset, happy, cleaning the house, sitting at home, in my car, all day at work, wherever.  I love any chance I can get to ride in my car by myself so that I can crank up the music and just listen (or sing along!).  Almost every song I listen to has a memory of something attached to it.  Maybe that’s why I love it so much; because most songs have a personal meaning to me.

12) I’m thankful for this blog.  It’s been awesome being able to just write about anything.  I like having a record of what all goes on in my life or what I was thinking on a particular day.  I’ve written about a lot of personal stuff on here and I think that’s helped me.  It doesn’t matter if no one reads it; it just feels good to write.

13) I’m thankful for the friends I’ve made at work.  I usually don’t let people “in” and know the real me but after so many years I’ve finally started to open up to some people.  I’m not one to talk to a lot of people and haven’t had many friends since getting married and having kids, but I’m thankful for the friendships I have made there.

14) I’m thankful that I got the chance to go back to college.  That was a really big step to me and when I finally finished I was so proud of myself.  I always seem to start things but never finish them, but this time I stuck it out and finished.  All the time that I had to spend on homework and away from family will hopefully be worth it someday.

15) I’m thankful for rain.  Although my husband completely disagrees with me and hates the rain, I absolutely love it.  I like the sound of it – it’s just so peaceful-sounding.  I love sitting outside on the porch while it’s raining or during a thunderstorm (I get this from my dad).

16) I’m thankful for teachers.  I couldn’t do their job, but I’m glad there are caring and patient teachers who actually care about students and want them to learn.

17) I’m thankful for my body.  It has always amazed me how the human body does what it does.  It amazes me even more to know that my body created 3 other human beings and how amazing life is when they took their first breath.  It truly is a miracle.

18) I’m thankful for guardian angels.  Unfortunately the amount of people that have passed away near me is increasing and I think of each of them as guardian angels.  After some pretty strong “signs” over the past few years, I absolutely believe that there are some people out there watching over us.

19) I’m thankful for the bags of candy sticks that Wal-Mart sells during Halloween (these are the little white sticks of sugar that used to be the candy cigarettes).  I am addicted to those things.  Good thing they are only sold a few weeks out of the year.

20) I’m thankful for pumpkin pie cupcakes.  Yum.  A friend recently gave me the recipe and they are delicious.  Even though I ate about 40 of them over 2 days and then threw them all up, I still want to eat more.  I have no self control when I find food that I really like.

21) I’m thankful for cruises.  They are the best vacation ever (in our opinion).  You can choose to do nothing all day or choose to be busy every minute of the day.  The food is awesome and we just love it.

22) I’m thankful that we no longer get the channel that SpongeBob SquarePants comes on.  One of the most annoying cartoons ever.

23) I’m thankful for drivers who do not try to pass me on my right when they know the lane is ending and drivers who DO NOT throw their cigarette butts out.

24) I’m thankful for the GPS on my phone.  Anyone who knows me well knows that I have NO sense of direction at all.

25) I’m thankful that my job allows me to work from home sometimes.  And when I do have to go into the office, I’m thankful that we get to wear jeans and sweatshirts to work.

26) I’m thankful for men’s cologne.  Especially on my husband.  Good smelling men make me weak at the knees…

27) I’m thankful for sweet tea.  Yes, I’m from the South.

28) I’m thankful for the few hours of “me” time that I get between when the kids go to bed and when I go to bed.  I love my kids, but it is so nice to just sit down and relax.

29) I’m thankful for the moon and stars.  I could just stare up into the sky for hours.  It’s like you’re looking into the future or something.  I think it’s cool when you look up there and you’re looking into something that never stops; it just keeps going and going.  That’s some of my “nerdiness” coming out.

30) I’m thankful that this year is almost over.  It’s been a tough year and I hope 2012 is much better!

Leave me a comment! Come on, you know you want to!

