Goodbye 2011!


Wow, what a year.  SO much has happened this past year and honestly, I’m so glad that it’s over.  There were a few awesome highlights, but much of the year was not great!

At first I was going to write about all the bad things that had happened this past year, but I’ve changed my mind and have decided to write about what I’ve learned and the some accomplishments that I’ve made (trying to be positive here!).

  • I had my third and final child.  I’ve always wanted 3 kids and from the time I found out I was pregnant this last time, I wanted to try and not have a c-section.  I changed doctors and had to drive 30-40 minutes to each appointment, but in the end it was so worth it.  In January I got my wish and I cannot express in words how awesome that day was.  It was definitely painful, but I still can’t believe that day went as perfect as it did.  I could write pages and pages about all the emotions I had that day.
  • We made it through Cayden’s bout of meningitis.  With both of our girls having to be in the hospital for a serious sickness shortly after they were born, it makes me so thankful that we live in a time and place where medical expertise is close by.  If it were 30 years ago, we would only have 1 of our 3 kids alive.  It’s scary to think about.  It’s something that when you’re going through it, you’re just doing what you need to get through to the next hour and don’t think about much else.  Then when it’s all over the reality of it hits you and you realize how scary it was.
  • This is a personal accomplishment but I’m proud that I made it 6+ months breastfeeding my daughter.  I know that topic is extremely touchy to some people, as it is me, but I consider it an accomplishment.  I’m glad I made it to my original goal of 6 months.
  • I made it to my 30th birthday!  I’ve learned a lot about myself this year – what has made me who I am today.  I have met some wonderful people and lost some wonderful people.  As if I haven’t learned it enough in years before, this year has definitely taught me not to take anything or anyone in this life for granted.

In 2012, I have a few resolutions.  Of course I have the one to lose weight, like everyone else does, but I’m really going to try this year!  I’m going to work on being less sarcastic.  I want to try to knit and crochet more this year (if I get time) and try to make some money at it!  I have always wanted to run a marathon, but I have to exercise to do that and I don’t have a lot of free time right now.  I’m going to try to write more in this blog – there’s a post-a-day challenge that I think I’m going to try out.  And I’m always thinking of all these new things I want to do but never follow through with them.  Maybe that should be one of my other resolutions…

Happy New Year!

Leave me a comment! Come on, you know you want to!

