Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope


Photo #32

hope / noun, verb / hoped / hop•ing

1. to cherish a desire with anticipation / 2. a desire accompanied by expectation or belief in fulfillment / 3. someone or something on which hopes are centered / 4. something hoped for

“Listen to the mustn’ts, child. Listen to the don’ts. Listen to the shouldn’ts, the impossibles, the won’ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me… Anything can happen, child. Anything can be.” ~ Shel Silverstein

“Hope” is this week’s photo challenge theme.   I went to the kids’ school this week to eat lunch with them.  In between my daughter going back to class and waiting on my son to get to the cafeteria, I watched all the kids from other classes that were in there eating.  They were all so happy and innocent.  They didn’t care who they were sitting beside.  They weren’t worried about bills, family, or sickness.  All they were worried about was what was in their lunch box and what to talk about in the 20 minutes before they had to go back to class.  And I found myself jealous.

It makes me sound pessimistic (and I’m really not) but it would be nice to be my age now, but have the problems I had when I was in 2nd grade (which were none).  I’ve had just a few tastes of how unfair life can be and it tastes like shit.  Those kids (or the majority of them) hopefully don’t have a clue of how the real world is (and they shouldn’t need to right now), but it just made me think.

Oops, I think my post is going down the wrong road…I think it’s supposed to on the positive side.

Ironically, Ethan asked me how to spell a word tonight and it just so happened that he was making a to-do list for him for Friday (he is definitely my child).  He was typing it into his iTouch and I got him to send me a screenshot.  Here is his to-do list:

Ethan's to-do list

See what I mean?  I would love to have that to-do list (minus going to school – I hated school).  Although, I could handle a day in 2nd grade.  I think it’s hilarious that Words with Friends is the most important thing to do when he gets home from school!

There is nothing that means hope more to me than my kids.  I hope they grow to be old and stay healthy as most of that time as possible.  I hope they find someone that they love and loves them back that they can grow old with.  I hope they never have to question how much their dad and I love them.  I hope they know that they can come to me with any problem or question.  I hope they never have to experience something that they’ll spend a lifetime trying to overcome.  I hope they know that they can grow up to do anything and be anything they want to be.  And I hope I stay around long enough to see them accomplish this.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope

Leave me a comment! Come on, you know you want to!

