Photo of the day: #34 “Shoes”


Photo #34

“Give a girl the right shoes, and she can conquer the world.” ~ Marilyn Monroe

I bought some shoes today that are not normally my style.  I’m usually a t-shirt and jeans kind of girl, but I needed some shoes to match some nice outfits for our upcoming vacation.  I tried these shoes on and loved them.  I put them back on the shelf and walked away but then figured “what the hell” and thought I’d be adventurous.  So I went back and got them off the shelf and bought them.  I put them on when I got home and just walked around the room, pretending to be a model on a runway…haha 🙂 What a nice visual… That quote is so true, though – it’s funny how shoes or a dress can make you feel sexy and important.  I’m kind of nervous to wear them – it’s out of my comfort zone.  Plus they add several inches to my height which will put me around 6’…I don’t want to look like I’m towering over everyone!

8 thoughts on “Photo of the day: #34 “Shoes”

  1. So true. The right outfit or pair of shoes can change your entire perspective on an event or day. I love the shoes. I’m sure they look great on u. 🙂

  2. There’s a 2012 “get out of your comfort zone” challenge. http://margekatherine.com/2011/12/20/no-comfort-zone-challenge/ that encourages people to try new things each week. I would do it myself but blogging lately is an ‘out of my comfort zone’ activity for me. 🙂

    There’s also a very nice blogger (crowing crone joss) who has been chronicling about her adventures as well. .http://crowingcrone.wordpress.com/category/no-comfort-zone/ 

    I think we have the most to offer ourselves when we try live in some of our discomforts which is a round about way of saying; nice shoes!

    But um, I couldn’t just stop in and say *that* so I totally think you should start up the comfort zone challenge. 🙂

    1. Thanks Erik! That’s an awesome idea – I’m going to give it a try. Getting out of my comfort zone is really something I’m going to try and work on this year and I think this will help. You’re right – it’s supposed to be rewarding when you think out-of-the-box…or that’s what I’ve heard 🙂

      Thanks for the idea! 🙂

  3. I love shoes. And I’m also tallish – 5′ 8″ – so for a lot of my life I stayed away from high shoes. Then, a few years ago, I decided to hell with it and started wearing shoes if I liked them, regardless of their heel height – it was a ridiculously big (tall?) decision for me. So, I’ve been 6′ and in a dress and I’ve even had a woman tell me off (I’m not joking), she tutted disapprovingly and said, ‘Why are you wearing high heels – aren’t you tall enough already?’ It was as if she thought I was greedily using up all the height in the universe!

    The thing is, while I hardly ever wear high shoes – deciding that I will if I want was actually good for me – Erik is right. Plus, in the comfort stakes having examined your shoes in the photos I have to say that wedge heels are much more comfortable than spindly heels – purely from a physics point of view it is a pain inducing experience to have your entire body weight on the ball of your foot – at least wedges spread the load (literally) and look pretty damn good.

    Enjoy wearing them.

    1. Just realized I posted this comment as a reply to the wrong post…oops. I just saw your comments – they did go into the spam folder…hmmm. Thank you for the comment! I’m at that point too – I like them so I’m just going to wear them, who cares what anyone else thinks, right?! From what little time I’ve worn them, you’re right, they are much more comfortable than the spiked heels 🙂

Leave me a comment! Come on, you know you want to!

