Weekly Photo Challenge: Regret


Regret

re•gret  [ri-gret]  verb / re•gret•ted / re•gret•ting

1. to mourn the loss or death of / 2. to miss very much / 3. to be very sorry for

“We all do things we desperately wish we could undo. Those regrets just become part of who we are, along with everything else. To spend time trying to change that, well, it’s like chasing clouds.” ~ Libba Bray

This is a picture of my car.  It kind of represents all my previous cars because I would sadly classify all my previous car purchases as mistakes that I regret.

The first car that I had was a Honda Civic that was given to me by my parents on my 16th birthday.  I paid half the payments during high school and then when I got married we paid that car off.  That has been the only time we have had a car paid off.  Yes, I was spoiled.

Then 6 months later I got pregnant and we knew we were going to need a bigger car.  We looked around and decided on a Ford Expedition.  I was sad to be trading in my little black car, but Michael loved the Expedition.  That was in the summer of 2001.  Then our mortgage company messed up and told us our payment was going up a few hundred dollars so we returned the car just a few months later.  Michael was upset and is still upset about it re-telling the story to me now 🙂

Then the mortgage company sent us a nice apology letter telling us they screwed up and said our payment really wasn’t going up.  So we went to try to get our car back but it was already sold.  So I think we borrowed a family car for a while.

Then my first big mistake – I got a lease on a Toyota Highlander.  Don’t know why I did this.  Then realized the payment was too much for a stay-at-home mom and had to get a job (or 2).  I am impatient…when I want something I have to have it right then…without really thinking it through!

I kept the Highlander about a year (another big mistake) for a what?  Another Honda Civic!  I went from a mid-size SUV to a pretty small sedan, and then a few months later was pregnant with our second child.  Nice thinking that one through, Ashley.  Cars keep getting smaller, family keeps getting bigger.

A month before Ethan was born I finally traded in the Civic for a wonderful, baby blue, Dodge Caravan.  The only thing I liked about that thing was the sliding doors.  By this time, people at work were betting me that I would have a new car by the time that one was paid off.  I swore that I would not give in and would keep it until I had a $0 balance.  But in the end I couldn’t do it, and 3 1/2 years later I traded in the van for the car in the picture above.  And then had a 3rd kid…haha.

I have had this car for over 4 years now and even though it is still not paid off yet, I am 99% sure that I am not getting a new car anytime soon.  I am going to win the bet…the second time 🙂

Leave me a comment! Come on, you know you want to!

