Photo of the day: #101 “Safety pin”


Photo #101

I’m still a day behind on my posts – photo 101 is actually supposed to be for 4/10/12.  I doubt anyone is counting, but I just felt like I should clarify 🙂

I don’t have a photo from yesterday, so I thought I would look up something interesting that happened in history on a previous April 10th.  I bet you didn’t know that on April 10, 1849, Walter Hunt was issued a U.S. patent for his invention of the safety pin.  He needed to pay back a $15 debt to a friend and thought he would invent something new as a way to pay him back.  He sold the patent for $400 back then, which would be about equivalent to around $10,000 a few years ago.

So there’s some random trivia for you.  It would be awesome to be able to invent something like that and make lots of money off of it.

Leave me a comment! Come on, you know you want to!

