Photo of the day: #115


Photo #115

It’s been really getting to me lately that my oldest daughter is going to be starting middle school in just a few short months.  Where did the time go?  Middle school just seems so old and honestly it scares the crap out of me.  She is growing up so fast.

When I was in middle school, I decided to join the band.  We had auditions for different instruments and it was determined that I would probably be best at the flute.  So that’s what I got.  I practiced and over the years and into high school I got pretty good.  In high school was when marching band started and I decided to switch to colorguard (girls that throw the flag) but by my sophomore year I wanted to change back to the flute.  I hated the practices and the schedule of always having to go to a game or a competition and always looked forward to October when marching season was almost over.  But I love all the memories that I have from being in band…the sound of the drum line, the thrilling feeling of winning and being among the best bands in the state, all the bus rides to different competitions, band camp, etc.  Band is where I met my husband and my closest friends.  It taught me about music and made me appreciate music.

So, when I got a letter/form in Mackenzie’s schoolwork today it prompted me to write this post.  It was just a simple form to say whether or not my child would or would not participate in band in middle school.  It was just one little check mark, but it felt like this big ordeal to me and that I was somehow determining her future when I checked that line.  My life would’ve been completely different if I hadn’t been in band – I probably wouldn’t have met Michael, wouldn’t have these kids, and who knows what else.  So, I have to admit I was so relieved when she said that she wanted to join band.  I didn’t want to push her, but I really wanted her to just give it a chance.  Hopefully she’ll stick with it.

Yes, I know I’m a band nerd. 🙂

Leave me a comment! Come on, you know you want to!

