Have you ever thrown a fist full of glitter in the air?


Daily Prompt:  This is your song.  Take a line from a song that you love or connect with. Turn that line into the title of your post.

I love music and I love listening to song lyrics, so I figured this would be an easy post.  But it has not been, seeing that it’s now after 11pm and I finally just now picked out a song lyric.  I love Pink…I’m talking about the singer, not the color.  Although I do love the color pink and own too many pink clothes/shoes but that is beside the point… I think Pink is so talented and loved this song from the moment I heard my mom playing it at her house one day.  And no, I have never thrown a fist full of glitter in the air – at least not literally.  The song that this lyric is from is called “Glitter In The Air”.  The beauty of music is that you can interpret the meaning of it however you like and no two people will be affected by it the same way.  This song speaks to me because it talks about trusting people, not being afraid, just letting life happen, taking chances…all of which I have problems doing.  It would be so freeing to just be able to trust people and not constantly worry about useless things.  I don’t even know what it would be like to be carefree and just take chances, not knowing what the outcome might be.  It might be fun to just throw some glitter up in the air.  I’ll have to try it one day 🙂

“Glitter In The Air” by Pink

Have you ever fed a lover with just your hands?
Closed your eyes and trusted, just trusted?
Have you ever thrown a fist full of glitter in the air?
Have you ever looked fear in the face and said, “I just don’t care”?

It’s only half past the point of no return
The tip of the iceberg
The sun before the burn
The thunder before the lightning
The breath before the phrase
Have you ever felt this way?

Have you ever hated yourself for staring at the phone?
You’re whole life waiting on the ring to prove you’re not alone
Have you ever been touched so gently you had to cry?
Have you ever invited a stranger to come inside?

It’s only half past the point of oblivion
The hourglass on the table
The walk before the run
The breath before the kiss
And the fear before the flames
Have you ever felt this way?

La La La La La La La La

There you are, sitting in the garden
Clutching my coffee,
Calling me sugar
You called me sugar

Have you ever wished for an endless night?
Lassoed the moon and the stars and pulled that rope tight?
Have you ever held your breath and asked yourself will it ever get better than tonight?
Tonight

5 thoughts on “Have you ever thrown a fist full of glitter in the air?

  1. Its funny, I was thinking this same song for the Daily Prompt! Thought about it for a long time. I chose a different line/song in the end. But I love this song from Pink. That performance she did at an awards show was awesome! Curiously I was watching a show last night called Storytellers (I think). on VH1 (I think) lol…anyway Pink was the storyteller. She talked about this song…the whole album in fact, written after her break up with husband Cory Hart.
    Its a fantastic song, the music, the words everything just says it all.

    1. Yes, it is an awesome song! As I was searching for the video to link to, I saw where it said she would be on Storytellers last night. Unfortunately I don’t get VH1 so I didn’t get to watch it, but that was pretty coincidental that she was on last night!

Leave me a comment! Come on, you know you want to!

