Call Me Ishmael


Daily Prompt:  Call Me Ishmael.  Take the first sentence from your favorite book and make it the first sentence of your post.

“Who am I?  And how, I wonder, will this story end?”

When I thought of my favorite book, I immediately thought of “The Notebook” because I am a hopeless romantic and love the story.  I don’t get to read often so I don’t have a long list of “favorite” books to choose from.  I read the book long before the movie came out and this is one of the very few movies that I think is just as good as the book.  I’ve seen the movie at least dozen times and will never get tired of it…and who can ever get tired of watching Ryan Gosling anyway? 🙂  Since it has been so long since I read the book, my mind just remembered the great opening line in the movie…

“I am nothing special; of this I am sure.  I am a common man with common thoughts, and I’ve led a common life.  There are no monuments dedicated to me and my name will soon be forgotten, but I’ve loved another with all my heart and soul, and to me, this has always been enough.”

That’s one of my favorite quotes of all time and thought it was the perfect choice for this post.  So just to make sure I had the exact words, I went upstairs to find my copy of the book.  I opened it and turned to Chapter 1 and found this instead: “Who am I?  And how, I wonder, will this story end?”

Not what I remembered, but I guess that line is a pretty good opening sentence for a post.  So I’ll go ahead and answer it…

…but I don’t really know how to answer it.  That’s a big question.  I can list all the things I love – my kids, my family, music, pizza, Starbuck’s coffee, sleeping in, the moments that are becoming more rare with my oldest daughter like today when she sat beside me on the couch, leaned her head on my shoulder and said, “You smell good, Mom”.  I asked, “what do I smell like?”.  She said, “I don’t know how to explain it, you just smell like ‘Mom'”.  That absolutely melted my heart because I know exactly what she means – my mom smells just like ‘Mom’ to me, too.  It’s like a scent that represents a safe place and it’s just something instinctual; probably how newborns know who their mom is just by smell.  Anyway, all these things don’t explain who I am.  I don’t really know who I am.  I’ve lived with myself for almost 31 years now and I’m just now starting to figure it out.

Which brings me to the second opening sentence:  “And how, I wonder, will this story end?”  I don’t like to wonder how “my story” will end.  I worry too much about that kind of stuff, so I don’t particularly want to know how it’s going to end.

I do know how this evening is going to end, though, and it’s with Ryan Gosling on the big screen tv 🙂

Leave me a comment! Come on, you know you want to!

