Daily Prompt: 1984


You’re locked in a room with your greatest fear. Describe what’s in the room.

Well, naturally my biggest fears are pretty common ones – losing any of my family, something tragic happening to one of my kids, being burned alive, or drowning.  But I don’t really want to go into detail about depressing things like that, so I’ll just talk about a recurring “nightmare” that I’ve had for years and years and years.  It’s a nightmare about bugs – it usually alternates between ants or spiders.  I don’t really have a real fear of any type of bug, so I really don’t know why this keeps happening to me.

I’ll wake up in the middle of the night, sit straight up in bed and see millions of ants or spiders crawling all over me, all in the bed, all on the floor, and all over the ceiling.  It is so real, it’s hard to describe.  I’ll usually bolt out of bed, brushing off my arms and run to turn on the light.  I’ll panic for a minute and by this time my husband is usually awake (either laughing at me or staring at me like I’m an idiot) and I’ll ask him if he sees the bugs everywhere!  He will say “no, Ashley, you’re just seeing things”.  Then my brain will start working right again, “the bugs” will disappear, and then I look like a fool standing up in the middle of the room pointing at the ceiling at nothing.  I’ll finally get back in the bed and go to sleep.  Sometimes I don’t even remember doing all that the next morning; my husband will just tell me that I was seeing bugs again last night.  A few months will go by and then it will happen again – I don’t know what’s wrong with me.  I just hope I don’t wake up tonight seeing bugs after talking about all this!

Leave me a comment! Come on, you know you want to!

