Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen


When you were 16, what did you think your life would look like? Does it look like that? Is that a good thing?

Thinking back to when I was 16 makes me 1) feel really old and 2) realize how much of a spoiled brat I was!  The week leading up to my 16th birthday my family went on a cruise (this was my 3rd cruise and I was only in 10th grade).  During dinner my parents gave me a present…it was a small box about the size that a ring would be wrapped in.  I opened it and in it there was a key.  A car key!  A key to my very first car!  A brand new black Honda Civic EX!  I was so excited but at the same time in true teenager”ish” fashion, I was irritated that I was across the Atlantic ocean and had to wait days before I could get home to that car.  They had the instruction manual with them on the boat and I think I read the whole thing that week, looking at the brochure with pictures of the interior of the car, deciding where I was going to put all my cds…  When it finally came time to leave to go home, my parents decided to take a later flight in order to get free tickets or something.  Spoiled me was so angry at being stuck in an airport all day on my birthday, but at least we got to sit in 1st class on the way home and the pilot let me come and look in the cockpit since it was my birthday 🙂

Back then Michael and I were on and off a lot and I think deep down I knew that I would marry him someday, but I just didn’t want to settle down.  I was young and immature, while he already knew that I was the one he was going to marry.  I honestly don’t remember back then what I was thinking about the future.  I don’t think it was a big issue for me; I don’t remember worrying about it.  I had always known I would have kids, but if someone had told me that I would be married 3 years after I turned 16 and already starting a family I would have been shocked!  I regret dropping out of college after the first semester, but I think that made me even more determined to get it done when I finally did go back to school a few years ago.  I did things backwards from all my friends and got a job, got married and had kids first, but I think everything happens for a reason.  I sure wouldn’t want to be just now starting a family (even though I kind of started over 2 years ago with my 3rd baby) but I’m completely happy with the way everything worked out.  At least I’m a young mom to my first 2 kids!  I’m still married to the love of my life and wouldn’t change a thing.

The night I got my car key!
The night I got my car key!

 

Leave me a comment! Come on, you know you want to!

