Daily Prompt: A to Z


Create a short story, piece of memoir, or epic poem that is 26 sentences long, in which the first sentence begins with “A” and each sentence thereafter begins with the next letter of the alphabet.

This is going to be a tough one.  After thinking about this one for a while, I decided to write about something I’ve been stressing over recently…school starting again soon.

At the Wal-Mart last week, I saw back-to-school displays already out.
Blindsided, I stopped pushing my cart.
Can’t they just let parents enjoy these last few weeks of summer?
Damn you, Wal-Mart!!!

Every school year for the kids has just gotten harder and harder
Fearful that this year will just be more of the same
Getting the kids up early, making sure they don’t miss the bus
Hours and hours of homework is no fun game.

I hope my son continues to do well in school.
Just like me, he likes to learn and do his best.
Kind words are all that his teachers speak of him,
Loving, helpful, smart, organized…his desk is never a mess.

My daughter is a completely different story. 🙂
Numbers, books, and studying are some of the things she hates.
Our goal is just to get her to graduate high school,
Personality is what her unique trait is; she will definitely do something great!

Quiet is not in her vocabulary,
Rarely does she do something without being asked.
Surely 7th grade will be better than 6th, I hope.
This school year better go by faster than the last.

Unit tests, late night studying, and conferences are in the near future,
Voicemails from the cafeteria with overdue bills
We will all eventually get through this
Xanax prescriptions might have to be refilled!

Yes, we’ll make it through again, thanks to tutoring help from my mom.
Zealous and determined, she’s the bomb!

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: A to Z

Leave me a comment! Come on, you know you want to!

