Keep Calm and Go Bald!


StBaldricks.org/be-a-shavee
StBaldricks.org/be-a-shavee

On April 1st I will be shaving my head to raise money for childhood cancer research.  No, this is not an April Fool’s joke…it’s for real!  My sister-in-law mentioned months ago that she was going to shave her head to raise money for St. Baldrick’s.  I was instantly intrigued and really wanted to do it with her.  I asked Michael what he thought because he has always hated when I cut my hair shorter than my shoulders.  But, he was ok with it (or at least seemed ok with it – maybe he knew it didn’t really matter!).  We have now got most everything finalized and will be shaving our heads in less than a month!  It may sound weird, but I’m so excited to do this.  Aside from not having to wash/dry/fix my hair every day and not have to try to keep it out of my face while working out, there is a much better reason…to raise money for childhood cancer research.  Now that cancer has affected someone really close to me…my youngest nephew…and I’ve seen what he and his/our family has gone through, it makes me want to do whatever I can to help prevent other kids and their families from going through the same thing.  And I only know the emotions I feel as an aunt; I can’t even fathom the emotions that my sister-in-law and brother-in-law have experienced.  But I do know that they are two of the strongest people I know and they just keep putting one foot in front of the other.  And my little nephew does the same thing; he’s such a trooper.  I guess that’s all you can do, though, is just keep moving forward.

So, check out St. Baldrick’s website (link here) and see what they are all about.  If you want to help our team meet our goal of $5,000, you can donate here:

http://www.stbaldricks.org/participants/mypage/689173/2014

Thank your for your support!

Leave me a comment! Come on, you know you want to!

