Hospital Day #4 & Going Home


I woke up this morning to another one of our doctor’s residents…at least this one came in around 7:00am.  He mentioned that she would be able to go home if she can get moving more and eating more.  The nurse even came in and said that she would stop her IV if she could eat some breakfast.  I was so excited because last night had gone so well, but she didn’t want to eat or drink anything this morning.  She said that she didn’t feel sick and wasn’t really in any pain, but I still got a little worried because she didn’t want to eat.  And I knew that the doctor/nurses would want her to be eating well.  So, when I couldn’t get her to eat anything for breakfast I was a little disappointed, but at least she wasn’t feeling sick.  We decided we would wait and try again at lunchtime.

In the meantime, physical therapy came in and said that we would work on moving around more today, walking down the halls, and practicing stairs since we have stairs at our house.  They asked her if she wanted to take some pain medicine before they started working with her and she said no (I think she doesn’t being forced to eat to take the medicine).  We decided to skip the pain medicine since she said her pain was only a 2 out of 10 (and this was even with no pain medicine since last night at 10:30pm).  PT wanted to make sure I was helping her correctly out of bed, so I helped her out and we walked down the hall.  She was doing good so we walked to the end of the floor towards the stairwell.  The therapist opened the door to the stairwell while I walked behind Mackenzie and she just started walking up the stairs with no problem!  We had to tell her to slow down and stop because her IV wouldn’t reach far enough.  After that, we went back to the room and she sat in the chair.

It was around lunchtime by then so she actually ate a few goldfish, some crackers, and some green beans.  We pretty much just hung out in the room while she snacked some and drank more.  We took pictures of Mackenzie standing next to us to see if we could tell that she had grown.  She already looked taller to us because I’ve never seen her look so straight when sitting up.  She looks a lot taller when standing next to Ethan!

Ethan looking up to Mackenzie!
Ethan looking up to Mackenzie!
Mackenzie and I
Mackenzie and I

The nurse told us that it really was up to us whether or not we went home – if we were comfortable with the way she was progressing then we could go.  Her pain was under control and she wasn’t needing any more nausea medicine, so the only thing left was to eat and drink more.  That afternoon we told the nurse that we were ready to go and she got all the discharge stuff ready.  Mackenzie took a dose of pain medicine so that we could help prepare her for the drive home.  The nurse took off Mackenzie’s bandage on her back, I got her dressed, and we packed up our stuff.

Bandage is off!
Bandage is off!

The nurse finally brought her wheelchair in and we were ready to go!

Ready to go home!
Ready to go home!

I was worried about going home because whenever my kids were born or when they have been sick in the hospital before, even though staying in a hospital sucks, you feel like you’re losing that sense of security that you have while you’re there.  In the hospital there are always nurses and doctors around who knows what to do if/when something goes wrong and at home it’s all up to us.  So, it always worries me at first when we are told we will be leaving.  I was worried about the actual car ride too because I’ve read that it is sometimes the worst part for the kids because of all the bumps and sitting up not being comfortable.  Luckily, we only had a 25 minute drive home.  She told me that she didn’t want her daddy to drive, so I had the task of making it home safely.  I took it slow and she actually slept during most of the ride home.  The bumps didn’t seem to bother her at all.  We stopped to get her medicine and finally made it home.

She went straight to the bed that we had brought downstairs and fell asleep.  Later on, her best friend came by and she woke up and talked with her for a while.  She actually requested some food (yay!) and ate some pizza.

When she was up walking around, I measured her on the same wall that I measured her on last week before surgery.  She grew 1 1/2 inches!

1 1/2 inches!
1 1/2 inches!

Later that night after I put Cayden to bed, I told her that we were going to take a shower.  It wasn’t bothering her at all but I told her she would feel better after getting clean since she hadn’t been able to take a shower since last Thursday.  Her pain medicine had started to wear off by now and she was complaining of shoulder blade pain and hip pain.  The doctor told us that this would be normal because all her muscles are still getting used to being moved to different spots.  I would imagine that it would hurt to have all those muscles stretched and moved around after being in a different spot for all this time.  We made it up the stairs and into my bathroom fine.  The shower was the tough part.  She was afraid of the water hitting her back so she was trying to get her head under the water without her back getting water sprayed on it.  But she can’t bend her neck very well and can’t bend forward at her waist.  At this point she was in a lot of pain.  I was trying to hurry to wash off the rest of her and then getting dressed was another ordeal.  The whole shower thing was just not fun.  By the time we finally got downstairs she just wanted to lay down and go to sleep.  I asked her if she wanted any pain medicine but she said no.

It’s tough trying to figure out the pain medicine and how much she needs to take to stay in front of the pain.  Hopefully we’ll get all this figured out soon!

Leave me a comment! Come on, you know you want to!

