Hospital Trip #2, Day #11


This morning when Dr. Wormer came in by himself, he was just all excited that Mackenzie was doing well without the tube.  The first few times I met him, he wasn’t my favorite but he is definitely growing on me.  🙂  Especially since he seems so excited about her progress now!  He said that we could start drinking water and eat jell-o or some popsicles.

Dr. Phelps came in a little later as I was helping Mackenzie into the bed – I’m going to try to get a picture of him and Dr. Wattenbarger tomorrow 🙂 Anyway, he asked about what the doctors had said about today’s plan and then said that Dr. Wattenbarger would be in tomorrow to see us (he has been out of town and hasn’t seen us since the day we got discharged from the hospital the last time).

After that, Dr. Wormer came back with Dr. Bambini while Mackenzie was sitting up in the chair.  I asked them if I could take their picture with Mackenzie…Dr. Wormer seemed excited but Dr. Bambini asked me, “Is this going on Facebook?”!  I told him no, which wasn’t technically a lie because it’s going on my blog!  He took off his surgical cap and started trying to fix his hair like he was worried about how he would look in the picture!  It’s amazing the bond you make with these nurses and doctors while you’re in the hospital…I’m just so thankful for the job that they do and the compassion that they show.  They have fixed my little girl…how could I not be thankful for them?!  Everyone we have met here has truly been wonderful.  Even though I hope I never see this place again, I will miss them.

Dr. Bambini, Mackenzie, & Dr. Wormer
Dr. Bambini, Mackenzie, & Dr. Wormer

Yesterday my mom brought some Jell-O that she had made to put in the refrigerator for whenever Mackenzie could start eating it.  She wanted to make small servings so she put them in shot glasses 🙂  Now the fridge in our room looks like that of an alcoholic!

Fridge stocked with shots!
Fridge stocked with shots!

Today when I was getting one out of the fridge, the nurse was just walking into the room…I had to explain that these weren’t what they looked like!  Mackenzie ate one of the jello “shots” at lunchtime and ended up eating another around dinnertime.  That’s the only food she has eaten all day, along with a few sips of water…I’m just so glad that it has stayed down and she hasn’t been nauseous!  Score!

Eating Jell-O!
Eating Jell-O!

Mackenzie has gotten up and walked three times today, each time farther than the last.  She has sat in the chair two times, so we’ve met our physical therapy goal for today.  It’s a struggle though because in the morning is the toughest to get out of bed after being still all night so after the first walk she is hurting.  Then she hits her pain pump button and then is out for a few hours.  Then the cycle begins again after she wakes up.  I have to force her to get out of bed, which makes me look like the bad guy all day.  I’m ready for that part to be over!

The night nurse tonight told us that they were reducing her TPN schedule.  Instead of it running continuously for 24 hours, they are cutting it down to 16 hours a day.  So, that means for 8 hours a day she will be without all the IV lines!  That will make getting around tomorrow much easier.

I have been trying to get pictures of Mackenzie with her favorite nurses.  I asked the nurse today when McCoy (our favorite night nurses) was going to be working and she said tomorrow night and Thursday night.  She asked us if we want to put in a request for him (which I didn’t know we could do) and I told her yes!  So, hopefully tomorrow we can get a picture of him with Mackenzie.

Anna & Mackenzie
Anna & Mackenzie
Mackenzie & Lisa
Mackenzie & Lisa
One thought on “Hospital Trip #2, Day #11

Leave me a comment! Come on, you know you want to!

