Hospital Trip #2, Day #12


Sorry for the late post…I had to watch my episode of 24!

A different herd of doctors came in this morning.  Last week I remember Dr. Bambini saying that he wasn’t working this week and that one of his partners would be doing rounds.  They were trying to talk to Mackenzie but she was half asleep.  I guess I was half-dreaming too because I knew they were in the room but I dreamed that Mackenzie told them that she had felt sick last night.  When I woke up a little later, I panicked because I didn’t know if she had really said that or if I was dreaming it.  As soon as she woke up I asked her about it and she told me I must have been dreaming because she said she didn’t say any of that.  Whew!!

This morning she was told to stay on clear liquids until her bowels started waking up.  We got our favorite day nurse today, Amy 🙂  Tonight we’ve got our favorite night nurse, McCoy, so it has to be a great day!  At 8am we had already been out for a half-lap around the floor and when we came back, they had brought up a food tray.  Even though it only had broth and Jell-O, it was good to finally see a food tray!  She ate some Jell-O for breakfast and that was it.

Food tray
Food tray

The doctors came back in around 11am and felt her belly.  The main doctor who was doing all the talking was asking Mackenzie if she had had any “flatus” or “broke wind” or had been “flatulent”.  Who uses the word “flatus”?  I don’t know that Mackenzie has even heard that word!  Some doctors just come right and ask her if she has farted, which at least makes her smile…fortunately it turned out that she did have some “flatulence” so we all did a little cheer and got really excited!  Ah, the things that make me happy these days 🙂  So, after that the doctor said that she can really have anything that she wanted to eat!

Soon after this, physical therapy came in and tried to get Mackenzie to get out of the chair without my help and walk down the hall without my help.  We’re still working on trying to get her out of bed by herself, but we did make a lot of progress on standing and walking today.  I guess Mackenzie felt brave afterwards because she was sitting in the chair and then I heard her say “I did it!  I did it!”…when I turned around from the chair I was in, she was already sitting on the couch!  Thanks for the mini heart attack, Mackenzie.

The hospital where we are has a “rooftop garden” on the 12th floor where they sometimes show movies at night.  There are also play toys out there for younger kids.  So, we went up there to check it out now that she’s no longer attached to suction.  And we got to breathe some fresh air!

In the elevator!
In the elevator!
Rooftop garden
Rooftop garden

Finally, Dr. Wattenbarger and Dr. Phelps came in.  Dr. Wattenbarger hadn’t seen her since the day we got discharged the first time and hadn’t known what has been going on since then (he has been out of the country).  As soon as he walked in the room, he started apologizing and saying how bad he felt that we were still here.  Before I could even start asking him any questions, he said that he had never seen anyone with SMA Syndrome after spinal fusion.  He said that he may have briefly heard about it during medical school but he had never seen any cases of it.  That really shocked me.  I knew it was rare but as many surgeries as he has done, I figured he would have seen at least one other case, but nope.  He said he would be back in tomorrow to check on her.  It was good timing because I got to get a picture of both of them 🙂

Dr. Wattenbarger, Dr. Phelps, Mackenzie
Dr. Wattenbarger, Dr. Phelps, Mackenzie

Another therapy dog came by to see us today.  As soon as the volunteer peeked her head in the door and asked us if we wanted to see a dog, Mackenzie couldn’t get out of the bed fast enough!  She was an English Lab, named Cora.  She was so sweet and kept wanting to lay down over Mackenzie’s feet.  Her owner kept trying to get her to stand up but she just wanted to lay on her feet!

After the constant flow of doctors stopped, I decided that I would try to convince Mackenzie to get a shower.

Some history on Mackenzie:  From the day Mackenzie started taking a shower, it is a fight every single time that it’s time to take a shower.  She is the kid who always asks me why she has to take a shower…even though the answer has been the same for the past 6+ years.  Every. Single. Time.  It’s a battle when she is home and healthy, much less after two major surgeries in the hospital.

But, she REALLY needs one.  The nurse (Amy) was in the room when I was trying to convince her and suggested that we try a shower cap rinse that they have.  Mackenzie finally agreed and Amy went to get it.  It’s a thick shower cap that you microwave, put over your head, massage into your hair, and then leave on for a few minutes.  It has some kind of cleanser in it that you don’t have to rinse out.  I already knew it wasn’t going to work because of how thick Mackenzie’s hair is.  We put it on her and I tried to rub it in as best I could.

20140630 Mackenzie in shower cap2

After a few minutes we took it off and just like I thought would happen, the only parts of her hair that even got a little bit damp was around her forehead and around the back of her neck.  So I brushed it and put in braids for now.  She won that battle but I’ve already warned her that tomorrow we are going to get a real shower!

20140630 Mackenzie in braids

Since the doctor put in the orders for her to eat anything she wants, she was able to order from the cafeteria for dinner.  She wanted a ham sub (the thing that she has been talking about the most has been a sub from Publix) but they only had regular bread.  They brought that instead and Mackenzie ended up eating a whole half of a sandwich!  And no nausea or pain!

Eating!
Eating!

It was a great day…the best one yet!  They haven’t mentioned going home yet but I don’t think it’s too far off now 🙂

Amy & Mackenzie
Amy & Mackenzie
McCoy & Mackenzie
McCoy & Mackenzie
Walking the halls
Walking the halls
Leave me a comment! Come on, you know you want to!

