Week #1 after running injury diagnosis


Technically it’s been 2 1/2 weeks since my injury started but it’s been one week so far that I’ve been on crutches.  I don’t want to sound like I’m whining but I do want to keep track of my progress about all this.  I found another blog where someone who went through a similar experience blogged about their progress weekly for over a year and it was helpful to me.  So, hopefully this could be helpful to someone else too, since I couldn’t find much at all about this injury (stress fracture with AVN) from a patient’s point-of-view.  Plus, I’ve been getting that feeling that I get when I know my instincts are right…and I’m feeling that this is going to go on a lot longer than 6 weeks.

So, here is what I’ve learned over the past week:

  • Crutches suck.
  • My arms and underarms have never been this sore before.  I’ve had to take my prescription Ibuprofen more for that than I have for my hip.
  • It hurts just as much to hold my leg up while using crutches as it does to walk on it.
  • I can’t tell any difference in my hip pain this week.  So far it has been the same for the past 2 1/2 weeks.  Hopefully it will start to feel better soon.
  • The worst pain is when I’m in a sitting position and have to lift my leg up (like lifting your foot from the gas to the brake pedal or getting into bed or getting into the shower, etc.).  And then letting your leg down hurts the same.
  • Crutches suck.
  • I’ve noticed my hip hurts more at night and wakes me up several times.  I don’t know if it’s from being in one position for hours at a time or what.  And the feeling of needing to stretch your leg straight out but you can’t is driving me crazy!  When I take medicine before bedtime it seems to help.
  • Opening doors is the most difficult thing to do on crutches so far.
  • Working uptown and being on crutches do not mix very well.
  • Crutches suck.
  • When I’m out hobbling around, I don’t look hurt.  My ankle isn’t wrapped up.  I don’t have a leg cast.  I rest my leg on the ground if I’m standing.  So, I hate looking like I’m not hurt, even though I am.  I was leaving work the other day and some guy sitting on a bench was telling me, “You need to put weight on your foot!  That’s the only way it’s going to heal!”.  I just smiled but I really just wanted to whack him with one of my crutches.
  • I’m getting more and more worried about this avascular necrosis diagnosis the more I learn about it.  Curse you Google!
  • I’ve had to make a chore chart at home to get the kids more involved with helping around the house.  That’s one benefit to all this…I am getting to relax a little more!  And the husband is being very helpful 🙂
  • The downside to being able to relax a little more is that I’m having to be very strict with what I eat.  I was used to exercising a lot and being able to eat a lot more than I can now.  My weight was finally dropping off each week and now I’m struggling just to maintain.  I’m only 15 pounds away from my goal weight so I just have to keep it up; there’s no other choice.
  • Having parents that help you out is awesome.
  • And finally…crutches suck!
One thought on “Week #1 after running injury diagnosis

Leave me a comment! Come on, you know you want to!

