Week #2/3/4 after surgery


I’ve been falling behind on my weekly updates.  It’s been 3 1/2 weeks since surgery.  Each week has been better than the last, so that’s a good thing.

At two weeks post-op, I had my check-up appointment.  A few days before that I had noticed that my incision was hurting more and it was getting more and more red.  There were these raised little red bumps, and it kept itching.  At my check-up, the doctor looked at it and said that it looked like I had a reaction to something in the dermabond glue that they use (or some kind of adhesive allergy).  He said that usually they see those reactions in kids and that it is really rare in adults.  He mentioned the name of it, but I don’t remember what he said.  He told me that I could take Benadryl to help with the itching.  He also mentioned that the next time I have surgery that I need to mention that so they won’t use the glue again.  He took x-rays and said that everything looks fine.

xray copy

xray2 copy

He mentioned that I will come back to see him in 4 more weeks and then we can start putting weight on the leg.  So, it really be 6 weeks non-weight bearing 😦

After that appointment, I went to my first physical therapy appointment.  That was not fun.  Most of the appointment was the guy asking me a lot of questions and seeing how well my leg moved.  My range of motion is great, but there wasn’t much that I could do without putting weight on it.  Then he started massaging the muscles around my incision.  That wasn’t fun.  Then he started massaging the really tight muscles in my groin.  I was gripping the edge of the table and breathing like I was having a contraction!  It wasn’t fun then but it must have worked because I woke up the next morning in no pain!  I was also able to wean myself off of pain medicine that Saturday…so I was off of all pain medicine at 2 1/2 weeks.

Over the next few days, I sent my doctor a message asking what I could do about the itching and the red bumps around my incision because the itching wasn’t easing up.  I had been taking Benadryl but it completely knocked me out.  They wanted to see me back in the office just to make sure it wasn’t infected.  I went in on 11/25.

Photo Nov 23, 9 50 23 AM

He assured me that it wasn’t infected but could see that the reaction wasn’t getting any better.  He prescribed me a steroid pack and told me that I could use some Hydro-cortisone cream.  He scrubbed the incision and tried to get all of the glue off (it sounds painful but man that felt good…like it was finally getting scratched).

I’m now on the last day of the steroid pack and am feeling much better.  The itching has eased up a lot thank goodness.  The redness is better too.

Pain is overall much better and I’m now getting to the point where I’m just SO ready to walk.  I only feel pain if I move my leg the wrong way or something bumps my leg.  I’m getting really impatient with these crutches and it taking so long for me to do anything.  Now that I’m feeling better I just want to get up and walk!  But I can honestly say that I haven’t cheated since surgery and have put NO weight on my right leg.  And I’ll keep on that way because I’m not going to mess this up now.  I just hope it heals like it should.  I’m even having dreams about being able to walk!

Leave me a comment! Come on, you know you want to!

